First steps in the Hi-Tech sales world

March 28, 2007

The Parking Lot

Filed under: Uncategorized — . @ 7:14 pm

My company is unique. Ground-breaking. It goes against the stream. And I have only now realized it.
Every day I drive to work and park at the parking lot under the building. The parking lot is like a spiral. -1 is where management park, and the little people drive down into the bowels of the earth, to -2 and even -3, out of the pure consideration, and inspirational leadership, of our management, that put their cars in harms way, and protect our cars in the likely case of a meteor striking the building, and destroying the cars at the top levels.
Back to our story though. So I am an early riser. I like to be at work around 8am, and get some work done before everyone is in, and nothing can be achieved anymore. It also has the perk of leaving in a more reasonable hour. However, in the past week I got a serious case of the “I just can’t get my ass out of bed at a reasonable hour”s, and arrived for a few days around 9.30. I have made a major discovery.
Floor -1 stays empty well after 9.30 every morning! And just in case you wondered, it’s empty again after 6pm!!!
Now, you might be a cynical individual, and say something around the line of “You, my friend, have bosses that just don’t care, and leave you minions to do all the work”. But boy are you wrong. This is where my company is special.
You see, this is individualism at its best. In a field where long hours are so common, where people are working into the night, and giving up their personal life, our company says, and means, that they care about our employees.
Our upper management is setting up the example. Saying to us “Hey, if you want to sleep late, or be with your kids for breakfast, or go home early and have some quality time with your family, IT’S OK!”. And they are leading the way. Making sure they mean it, and mean the best for us.
What a company. What a special place.
So anyway, today I went home early too, just ‘cos I don’t want them to feel that I’m not on the same page with this wonderful trend they are trying to set.

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t know your company, but I’ve always hated when people judge other’s achievement mostly by the amount of hours they are “at work”. I have a very good friend with exceptional talents, who can finish a day’s job in about 1 hour (I’ve seen it, I swear). On the other hand, I know people who would get to work at 6:30 AM, immediately send some emails to let people know they started working so early, took a coffee+breakfast+chit-chat+cigarette+whatever break until 9-10 when most other people get to work. Then they would more or less work for a couple of hours. 1-2 hours lunch, coffee, cigarette, etc. In short, these people would BE at work from 6:30 to 19:30 (impressive, right?), but accomplish work equivalent to 3-4 hours.
    So do me a favor, use better measures than simply “time at work” to judge a person’s work performance.

    Comment by Ilan Assayag — March 29, 2007 @ 10:09 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

