First steps in the Hi-Tech sales world

April 23, 2007

My first meeting

Finally, the big day had arrived. I was sent to meet a client.
I was a savvy world traveler. With my new dazzling suit, a laptop hanging on my shoulder, and a tiny trolley, I was the envy of all who travel. I knew my way around the airport, not longer staring with shiny eyes of the unexperienced at the duty free shops.
magritte-son-of-man.jpg
I was traveling with a sales manager as the technical expert (Help me momma!!!). We were to meet a Spanish communication company. Streaking over the sea, we spent a day traveling to meet for an hour. Once we arrived at the building, the size of a small fortress, I knew I was ready for the big leagues.
We asked the receptionist for Senior M. Morales, and sat down. I checked my reflection out in the window – I looked dashing in my new dark suit and tie. “Business man” written all over me for sure. The laptop on my shoulder gave me that special aura, that “je ne sais quoi”. New shiny business cards that pronounced me as the “Product Manager” promised I’m the guy you want.
After a while a young man approached, and after asking “Senior Morales?” and receiving a nod, we shook hands and followed him into the maze.
We walked long corridors, up and down elevators, and I’m sure at least one dragon guarding a secret passage. finally, having no sense of direction left, we arrived at a room, and were greeted by (surprise!) a whole team of people. Oh well, I get to spread out my new business card.
Oh, I had goosebumps. That sacred moment of trading cards, That ancient tradition, moving your arm just the right way, lowering your head just right, Half bowing in respect, half nodding friendly-like. Finally I was part of that secret ritual.
Then we set up the computers and got ready to start the show.
but a cough stopped us. “Excuse me,” said our Senior Morales – “You are from [insert my company name here]? Not from [insert a different company name here]??”
And then silence. Apparently he was expecting someone else entirely. how embarrassing. Silently everyone collected their cards back, and we were led back through the maze to the lobby.
Apparently there is more than one M. Morales at that company. Our M. Morales stood at the lobby, confused about where we were, and also in the lobby was another guy with a suit, Waiting for the M. Morales we were with.
Oh, just look at that guy from [insert the different company name here]. Just another guy in a suit, looking like every other Joe in the business, with that stupid laptop hanging on his shoulder, thinking he’s impressing someone!
magritte-golconda.jpg
The sales guy I was with looked at me and said “12 years in the business, this has NEVER happened to me. I guess you bring good luck.” Oh, I can’t wait to see what happens in my next trip…

As I do not post every day, feel free to subscribe to my RSS feed Here
You can also subscribe to get my new posts by Email here

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

