First steps in the Hi-Tech sales world

September 4, 2007

The Eco-Friendly Office

How well every optimistic prediction of the future has always come true. remember the paperless office? My colleagues that reprint every version of their 85 page document, after each word added show how well that has come out. Technology as a time-saver? Give me a break. I spend endless hours at work and at my shrink, trying to cope with gazillions of emails that flood my inbox, and the anxiety that it creates. 427 emails unread, currently. (See my previous posts about these subjects.)

Now, let us see how eco-friendly our office environment really is.

We are all sleeping tight because we recycle batteries at the office. Hooray. You can hear the crowd roaring. However, anyone that wants a drink, either uses a disposable cup to drink water, or opens one of the personal sized water bottles we get from the water cooler company. We have a truckload of empty bottles every week.

Lights and air conditioning are on, 24/7. Of course. But the award winning, unbelievable story of our company, is the middle room in the RD corridor. 4 people occupy that room. Some of them like the air cool, and like the movie, some like it hot. So, the obvious solution my friends, is that the Air-conditioning unit is set to freeze the room, and one person sits with their own personal convector (Small electric thingy, blows hot air. Yes, that it what it’s called apparently…) heating the same room. An ever lasting war of temperatures. When I saw this, this insane waste of electricity, all happening on a nice lovely day where any sane person would just open the window and enjoy the air, I knew we were doomed. I had a moment there. I found the end of the universe.

Here is a description of such a revelation, by amazing comedian, Lewis Black

My friends, humanity, exactly like the solar powered lighter, is doomed to extinction. For the rare few that never saw this technological wonder, the solar powered lighter:
uselessinvent01.jpg

As I don’t post every day, feel free to subscribe to my RSS feed here

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

