First steps in the Hi-Tech sales world

September 20, 2007

Being green.

As my favorite modern thinker (Kermit the frog) once said, “It’s Not Easy Bein’ Green”.
Lately newspapers have been full of articles about the environment. A lot of them dealing with plastic bags. We use them so often, always for a few minutes and then discard them. It’s a real shame.
garbage.jpg

So lately, if by internal motivation, and perhaps encouraged that the rest of society is now discussing it, I have tried to act green. I got energy saving light bulbs at home, I never print paper at work, and I even take my own bags to the supermarket, when I remember.
Today, needing to catch a quick lunch, I entered the McDonald’s that is located at my building, and wanted a take-away meal. I always cringe when they get it for me. They get a tray for the cup, and place the tray and cup in a plastic bag. Then they take the burger and fries and place them in a separate paper bag. Then, they place both of those bags in a new big plastic bag. All this, to carry the food to an elevator a minute away. Add several napkins, a straw I never use, and several ketchup bags, and I feel like a walking ecological disaster. So much garbage!
So today, I devised a new trick. I ordered the meal, and after it was served, grabbed the cup, and asked for a bag for the burger and fries. The girl put them in the paper bag, which I tried to take from her. But she insisted on adding the extra plastic one. The ensuing discussion, where I tried explaining to her that I already have it all in a bag, and that the extra, excessive plastic bag will sit around in the dump for 400 years, for no reason, drew from her and the people around me the strangest looks. What in god’s name is that guy on about?
I really had a hard time convincing her that I don’t want the extra bag. A real hard time. And then the stupid coke spilled on me in the elevator.
Well, not really, but it was a good punchline 🙂

Now, After reading this, if you made it this far, you may be thinking one of 2 things.
A – Damn, Those McDonald’s need to get with the program. With 129385265234 servings a day, they are screwing up our planet for good.
B – The writer of this article is a nut case.

If you thought A, help me out, share your opinions, tell other, be active. Stop this (and other) waste. If you thought B, you are either :
A – Living in the previous century, and you need to wake up.
B – The manager of the McDonald’s place in my street…

A little word from our friend:

4 Comments »

  1. These things get on my nerves all the time.
    I suggest you also join blog action day: http://www.blogactionday.com/

    Comment by Tsahi Levent-Levi — September 20, 2007 @ 7:15 am

  2. Wow, That is a cool idea! Will do. Thanks for the feedback!

    Comment by thebeginner — September 20, 2007 @ 7:50 am

  3. Great idea about taking your plastic bags back to the store. I never thought of that. Actually, I always think of that whenever I see the bin for bags on my way out. But it’s a good reminder and I’ll definitely start doing it!

    Comment by tinkytoes — September 23, 2007 @ 3:34 pm

  4. got lots more.
    I got new energy saving light bulbs for home (Make sure you get the yellow ones and not the white ones, their light is too cold), they save 80% of the electricity. Good for the planet and for your wallet.
    For a longer list of easy ideas, check out greenpeace.
    http://www.greenpeace.org/international/campaigns/climate-change/take_action/7steps/

    Comment by thebeginner — September 24, 2007 @ 10:03 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

