First steps in the Hi-Tech sales world

November 22, 2007

Working outside the office.

There is this saying, I think it’s by Dave Barry. It goes like this:
If you had to identify, in one word, the reason why the human race has not achieved, and never will achieve, its full potential, that word would be “meetings.”
Having read it, I started laughing, because let’s face it, there is more than a bit of truth in this. I guess that subject warrants a whole new post. However, Yesterday I needed to take my bike to the garage. Knowing half a day will be wasted there, I took my laptop with me.
Other than doing some work, I went to a coffee shop and read the paper while eating something. I chatted with the mechanic about life, bikes and babes. I stood and watched the rain fall. I chatted on the phone. I still managed to get done more work in that morning than in 2 days at the office. Now, I can blame email. I can blame chatting with people in the office. I can blame so many things, but the fact of the matter is that I work so much better outside the office. Take away that room, take away internet connectivity, and take away meetings, and I work so much better.

And as if to prove my point, coming back to the office, quite a bit of time was spent in a really serious debate:
After much deliberation with my friends, we have reached a conclusion about the best-worst video clip ever made. This is the clip that is so bad, it’s good. It is not just boring or dull, but entertainment at it’s best.
Enjoy :

As I do not post every day, feel free to subscribe to my RSS feed Here
You can also subscribe to get my new posts by Email here

2 Comments »

  1. I once actually gave the main reason for a business trip of a week to Geneva in this way:
    “I will be more productive during that week than in the office”

    Comment by Tsahi Levent-Levi — November 22, 2007 @ 8:28 am

  2. Indeed. being sick and home also does wonders.
    By the way, I was wondering if anyone can beat this clip for the title. Anyone?

    Comment by thebeginner — November 22, 2007 @ 1:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

